Tim Shaffer of Pennsylvania ended the four year streak of Donny Schatz and won the 50th annual Good Year Knoxville Nationals last night.

For the first time ever the race was 50 laps in celebration of the 50th annual event and included an all inclusive pit stop which came at lap 25.  Teams were allowed 5 minutes in the work area to make whatever changes they wanted including tire changes. 

Sammy Swindell had the dominant car and led the first 44 laps before he was passed by Schatz who led lap 45 before Swindell took the lead back for laps 46 and 47 and looked to be on his way to his first Nationals win since 1983,  but blew a left rear tire in turn four and tipped over taking him out of the race giving Schatz the lead with just three laps remaining.  On the re start Schatz appeared to have some motor issues but  led lap 48 however Tim Shaffer was right there with him and pulled a slider on the white flag lap to take the lead  and held on to the checkered flag to win the first Knoxville Nationals of his career collecting $150,000 for the win and ended Schat’s run for five in a row.    Schatz was second followed by Shane Stewart, Craig Dollansky who started 24th after transferring from the B Main  finished fourth and Kerry Madsen completed the top five.  Brian Brown started on the pole and was running in the top three most of the race when he blew a tire with six laps remaining.  He did re start and finished 14th.  

Six Knoxville regulars made the historic A main.  Davey Heskin was the highest finishing Knoxville regular as he was 8th, Josh Schneiderman in his first ever A Main finished 13th,  Dusty Zomer was 16th, Erin Crocker finished 18th , Lynton Jeffery was 21st and Skip Jackson finished 23rd.  World of Outlaws point leader  Joey Saldana had early motor trouble and finished 24th and Steve Kinser also had motor issues and pulled to the pits after lap 31 finishing 22nd.    Stevie Smith won the B main and finished 10th in the A,  Danny Laosoki won the C main but was unable to transfer out of the B main where he finished 13th, Jonathan Cornell won the D main and Grek Nikitenko claimed the E main.

Earlier in the day Kraig Kinser won the non qualifiers A main which was run Saturday afternoon after being rained out Friday night and Craig Dollansky won the Premier Chevy Dealers World Challenge Race.

August 14, 2010

E Feature, 10 laps, Top 2 transfer 1. Greg Nikitenko, Minot ND; 2. Phillip Mock, Pleasant Prairie WI; 3. Kim Mock, Kenosha WI; 4. Kaley Gharst, Decatur IL; 5. Domain Ramsay, Newtown, VIC, Aust. ; 6. Colin Entwisle, Baypark, NZ ; 7. Chris Shirek, Thompson ND; 8. Ty Bartz, Sheboygan Falls WI; 9. Bruce White, Merrylands West, NSW, Aust. ; 10. Kevin Ingle, Huron SD; 11. Ron Krysl, Atkinson NE; 12. Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield IL;

D Feature, 12 laps: Top 2 transfer: 1. Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia MO; 2. Trevor Green, Two Wells, SA, Aust. ; 3. Fred Rahmer, Salfordville PA; 4. Mitchell Dumesny, Nelson, NSW, Aust. ; 5. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls SD; 6. Sam Hafertepe Jr., Sunnyvale TX; 7. Mike Moore, Des Moines IA; 8. Toni Lutar, White Rock, BC, Can. ; 9. Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls SD; 10. Ben Gregg, Glendale AZ; 11. Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge OH; 12. Mark Shirshekan, Farmington MO; 13. Bill Rose, Plainfield IN; 14. Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield IL; 15. Paul Jeffrey, Kellyville, NSW, Aust. ; 16. Austen Wheatley, Lake Stevens WA; 17. Matt Wasmund, Jackson MN; 18. Greg Nikitenko, Minot ND; 19. Todd King, Sheboygan Falls WI; 20. Phillip Mock, Pleasant Prairie WI; 21. Robby Wolfgang, (R) Sioux Falls SD; 22. Dustin Morgan, Tulsa OK;

C Feature, 15 laps, Top 2 transfer: 1. Danny Lasoski, Dover MO; 2. Tyler Walker, Los Angeles CA; 3. Scott Winters, Butterfield MN; 4. Tim Kaeding, San Jose CA; 5. Bronson Maeschen, Pleasantville IA; 6. Jonathan Allard, Chico CA; 7. Lucas Wolfe, Mechanicsburg PA; 8. Johnny Herrera, Albuquerque NM; 9. Jason Meyers, Clovis CA; 10. Don Droud Jr., Lincoln NE; 11. Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks ND; 12. Seth Brahmer, Wisner NE; 13. Lee Sowell, Nesbit MS; 14. Zach Zimmerly, Ridgefield WA; 15. Kraig Kinser, Bloomington IN; 16. Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia MO; 17. Tony Bruce Jr., Liberal KS; 18. Trevor Green, Two Wells, SA, Aust. ; 19. Rager Phillips, Pleasantville IA; 20. Max Dumesny, Nelson, NSW, Aust. ; 21. Jamie Veal, Warrnambool, VIC, Aust. ; 22. Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. ;

B Feature, 22 laps, 6:09.9 New Track Record: Top 4 transfer: 1. Stevie Smith, Broken Arrow OK; 2. Paul McMahan, Nashville TN; 3. Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington IA; 4. Craig Dollansky, Elk River MN; 5. Jac Haudenschild, Wooster OH; 6. Brad Sweet, Grass Valley CA; 7. Austin McCarl, Altoona IA; 8. Ian Madsen, (R) St. Marys, NSW, Aust. ; 9. Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls SD; 10. Cale Conley, Vienna WV; 11. David Gravel, Waterford CT; 12. Lance Dewease, Fayetteville PA; 13. Danny Lasoski, Dover MO; 14. Ricky Logan, Little Rock AR; 15. Dean Jacobs, Wooster OH; 16. Ed Lynch Jr., Apollo PA; 17. Keith Bloom Jr., Anderson CA; 18. Mike Reinke, Howards Grove WI; 19. Randy Hannagan, Pittsboro IN; 20. Dave Blaney, High Point NC; 21. Gary Wright, Hooks TX; 22. Tyler Walker, Los Angeles CA;

A Feature, 50 laps: 1. Tim Shaffer, Aliquippa PA; 2. Donny Schatz, Fargo ND; 3. Shane Stewart, Bixby OK; 4. Craig Dollansky, Elk River MN; 5. Kerry Madsen, Sydney, NSW, Aust. ; 6. Greg Hodnett, Thomasville PA; 7. Paul McMahan, Nashville TN; 8. Davey Heskin, St. Michael MN; 9. Jason Johnson, Eunice LA; 10. Stevie Smith, Broken Arrow OK; 11. Daryn Pittman, Owasso OK; 12. Jason Sides, Bartlett TN; 13. Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington IA; 14. Brian Brown, Grain Valley MO; 15. Chad Kemenah, Findlay OH; 16. Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls SD; 17. Brandon Wimmer, Fairmount IN; 18. Erin Crocker, Wilbraham MA; 19. Sammy Swindell, Germantown TN; 20. Dale Blaney, Fowler OH; 21. Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City IA; 22. Steve Kinser, Bloomington IN; 23. Skip Jackson, Sydney, NSW, Aust. ; 24. Joey Saldana, Brownsburg IN. Lap Leaders: Swindell 1-44; Schatz 45; Swindell 46-47; Schatz 48; Shaffer 49-50

Tags: , ,