As the New Year’s holiday approaches residents are reminded about the restricted usage of fireworks in Marion County.

The Marion County Board of Supervisors voted on June 13th to restrict the use of fireworks in Marion County to July 4th. The discharge of fireworks is strictly prohibited when a burn ban is in effect for the county.

The use of fireworks is banned within the city limits of Knoxville and Pella. Pleasantville will allow the use of fireworks from December 31st between the hours of 12:00 p.m.(noon) and continuing through 1:00 a.m. on January 1st. Melcher-Dallas will restrict the use of fireworks during the New Year’s holiday from midnight to 1 a.m. on January 1st. The city of Bussey does not have a city ordinance regarding fireworks and will instead follow the Marion County restrictions.